Stop changing the fucking clocks

I’d like to just set one thing straight. The clocks changing does not give anyone an ‘extra’ hour in bed. There are not suddenly 25 hours in the day. If you want an extra hour in bed it might occur to you to just have an early night. I don’t see why the entire country has to get involved. This biannual nonsense has always irritated me, but now I have a baby I am full-on enraged.

In the spring, we’d just about convinced him to go to sleep before grown-up dinnertime when the clocks changed and all my dinners went cold. This time around, we’d just about managed to get him sleeping for a decent stretch at night when six became five, and a very angry little man was absolutely not convinced that breakfast had to wait another hour. Turning to Facebook to slag off the bastard clocks changing I discovered every other new parent I knew was also awake and unimpressed.

I wondered why we were all putting up with this. I’d always thought it was something to do with cows, but being in the dairy business myself these days I couldn’t see how getting up an hour later would affect my milk supply. I turned to Dr Google to find out who was to blame. The answer was so infuriating that even though the baby went back to sleep I lay awake seething until he woke up again.

According to BBC Newsround we can lay the blame firmly at the door of Chris Martin’s great great grandfather. Yep, Chris Martin from Coldplay.  William Willett campaigned his whole life for the clocks to be changed twice a year, arguing the daylight was ‘wasted’ on mere sleep. Clearly the man was not what you might call a hands-on kind of great great grandparent. His concern had nothing to do with babies and everything to do with… golf. That’s right. Willett was a keen golfer, and he got annoyed when games got cut short due to declining daylight.

That’s right people. Because golf is more important than sleep. Golf.

GOLF.

I am not a keen golfer, or fan of sports of any kind. My favourite spectator sport is the 100m sprint and that’s pretty much because I know it will be over soon. All this time I thought I was getting my sleep interrupted so that noble farmers could brave the chilly mornings collecting eggs. But it turns out it has nothing to do with food, and everything to do with sport. The world is rigged. FML.

Leave a comment