Essential purchases for trimesters 1, 2 and 3

Shopping when you’re pregnant is a different beast to those pre pregnancy days. For a start, there are hardly any clothes that fit in the bloody shops. But in addition, I’ve found myself having to buy ever more ridiculous accessories to help me get through each stage. Having found the whole thing a bit mystifying, I thought I’d capture the essentials that have got me through to week 35 in an attempt to save you a bit of time and money. Here goes!

First Trimester

  • Food and drink to fight the nausea:  Work out what snacks will make you feel better and get a lifetime supply on the go. For me, this list included pitta bread and taramasalata, muslie and milk for midnight snacks, gallons of fizzy water, lemon and ginger tea.
  • Things to make you feel better. You may be keeping your pregnancy secret, feeling sick, and unable to even go for a massage to cheer yourself up. So get yourself some nice bath stuff. Talk to Neil’s Yard to see what they’ve got that you’re ‘allowed’ and hang in there – once you’re into the second tri you’ll be allowed all sorts of enticing treats like paracetamol and lavender oil… the excitement never ceases. But do anything to make yourself feel better. Meals out, cinema, hang out with friends – focus on making yourself feel good as much as you can.
  • Nausea bands: I can’t say they worked, but some people like them, and they’re useful if you have to get the tube every day. Ditto mints, and a bottle of water.
  • Baby on board badge: If you’re commuting, just wear it. You won’t forget to take it off when you get to the office and it will make your journey in a LOT easier
  • Early scan, if your doc won’t let you have one on the NHS. For me, an anxious woman with a history of miscarriage, this was the best investment I could have made and seeing that little heartbeat bleeping away was a properly magical moment
  • Loose tops. Don’t worry about maternity ones just yet – amazingly, the looser high street ones in my wardrobe lasted me until around week 32 (then they just became too short).
  • Pregnancy classes: These can book up early, so it’s an idea to get your place secured as soon as you can, even though the classes won’t take place for ages. I went for NCT and they’ve been great so far. You might not want to book before your 12 week scan but if you do, I can confirm you won’t lose your money if the worst happens. I also booked with NCT in my previous pregnancy which sadly ended in miscarriage, and they were fantastic about refunding the money and removing me from their mailing lists.

Second trimester

  • Pregnancy yoga classes. These classes have been great for dedicated stretching and meditation exercises to help me feel better and bond with not so little bean. They were also a great way to meet other pregnant ladies from near where I live.
  • The (so-called) honeymoon period did not involve a magical disappearance of symptoms for me but I did at least have all my nausea food and drink at the ready. Keep stocked up, and keep the faith, you will be able to eat properly again soon.
  • Some kind of belly cream. I plumped for the Cowshed Udderly Gorgeous Stretch Mark Balm, but have heard good things about Neil’s Yard’s Mother’s Balm. I also made pampering products the focus of my birthday and Christmas wishlists.
  • Maternity tights: I bought a few pairs from H&M and they’ve seen me through all the way to week 35. Even at the early stages with a little bloat, you’ll be very appreciative of these babies after a big meal
  • Maternity jeans: Mine were courtesy of TopShop – I got a smart black pair, and a more casual denim pair.
  • New bras. Obviously. Get measured
  • Bra extenders: These cost a couple of quid from M&S and really helped to ease my chest pains when my ribs started getting stretched out later down the line
  • Scan photos: WORTH IT

Third Trimester

  • Maternity pillow: I bought a classic V shaped one to hug – it supports my boobs, bump and hips, although it is a bit annoying to turn over with in the night. I now wish I’d forked out on this one which doesn’t need to be hauled around in the night.
  • Birthing ball: I haven’t received mine yet and had previously thought it wouldn’t be worth it – but at 34 weeks, the sofa is starting to have its limitations as I have awful stretching pains in my right ribs, particularly after eating. I’ve been advised this ball is great for sitting on and having a little bounce – and it should come in handy if I go into early labour at home, too
  • Spa treatments: Really, you can have these from the second trimester onwards but when a gal can no longer reach her feet, a spa is required. I have a pedicure booked for this weekend and a ridiculously long massage in the diary to celebrate finally finishing work in a few weeks’ time
  • (Durr) baby stuff. I am not an expert on this, and am trying not to get overwhelmed. But I understand you need a carseat fitted or you won’t be allowed to leave hospital. So we have gone for a car seat, buggy, bedside crib, nappies and sleep clothes to get us going should the little one turn up early.

Leave a comment